Lucy's Life (oh, and a bit of Daniel's life too!)

A record of (almost) everything

Moochy Saturdays

Leave a comment

All week long I “have to be somewhere”. Work, gym, meetings, appointments, the bank, the post office…you get the idea. Sundays I spin (don’t ask me why, I know it’s evil and wrong but it feels sooo good). So that leaves Saturdays. We used to jump up on Saturdays and do errands and stuff. Food shopping, cleaning, having people over, going to friend’s houses. Every morning during the week I’m up at 6am…drag myself out of bed with sleepy eyes wishing to god I could have another ten minutes. Saturday mornings my eyes ping awake and can I get back to sleep? NO. Recently we’ve made Saturday’s “Moochy Saturdays” where we kinda just mooch about the house in our PJs. Its ACE.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m a massive tea addict, with Teapigs Jasmine Pearls being my drug of choice. I can’t get enough of the stuff. Daniel on the other hand is a coffee nut – he likes his coffee strong and black and powerful enough to send you into orbit. How amazing is it when you open a new jar of coffee? That sound of piercing the foil, and then the smell. Oh that smell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA ??????????????????????????????? OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not that the coffee stops him having a snooze. We nicknamed this chap Tiny Tears (the childs doll that’s eyes close as soon as you lay her down!) for his ability to sleep anywhere. Even when we have only just crawled out of bed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a good start to the weekend just chilling out, watching some Saturday Kitchen, playing with my nephew Milo and drinking endless cups of tea. Daniel’s in charge of brunch – this week it’s poached eggs, bacon, spinach, mushrooms, confit potatoes, hollandaise sauce. Yeah, that’s a proper breakfast for you! Only problem is that it’s taking a while and I’m hungry….

We’ve a busy rest of the day with some family visiting, a 30th birthday party, visiting the local farm to do some food shopping….maybe heading out for a late lunch somewhere – we will see how the mood takes us. I also have some serious Country Living reading to catch up on. I dream of one day living in one of the homes in my Country Living magazines…all shiny, clean, tidy and organised – some couple have effortlessly made a home beautiful all with “recycled finds” and “items picked up from local flea markets” (for the record, I’m pretty sure that I could never make some recycled finds and junk picked up from a flea market ever look that stylish – sigh). The gardens are pristine and full of flowering “wild flower gardens” to encourage bees and butterflies. They obviously haven’t had to struggle with the torrential rain we’ve had and the never ending amounts of ivy we have in our garden that invades and takes over. For my house & garden actually to be like that I would need an army of cleaners, interior designers, gardeners and a site manager, oh and a miracle (double sigh).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s nearing midday and I’m starting to feel a little guilty that I’m (we’re) still in PJs. Milo and his dad are snoozing, Daniel and I are drinking more tea and coffee, and the smell of bacon is starting to fill the house. Gosh my tummy is rumbling.

I hope you have a wonderful Saturday planned – don’t forget to take a few moments today though to just be. It’s good for the soul.

Love

Lucy’s Life x

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Author: Lucy

A girl who, with the man she loves, is trying to life a simple, balanced life full of love and laughter, friends and fun.

Leave a Reply

